Mix It Up!

Homemade Trail Mix

Trail mix is another versatile food to pack with you when hiking.  It comes pre-made in grocery stores, in brightly colored packages, with little bits of melty chocolate or yogurt covered somethings.  It’s kind of spendy, too!  Even though nuts and dried fruit aren’t exactly cheap, I can mix up my own blend for… maybe a quarter of the price.  I buy nuts and fruit in bulk, by the pound, which is perfect for choosing a little of this and a little of that.  With more variety than boring old GORP, trail mix is really kind of an anything-goes sort of snack.

What could be a better energy pick-me-up than nuts combined with fruit?  This time I mixed almonds, walnuts, pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds.  The types of dried fruit I added were banana chips, raisins, golden raisins, papaya, pineapple, kiwi, apple, cranberries, and goji berries.  What’s missing?  Granola!

I scoop it up by ¼ cupfuls into snack size zip bags.  I usually make about 25 servings at once, which is well worth my time.

Homemade Trail Mix

Leave a Reply

